h2 brod

Willoughby Hills Historical Society, Inc.

Historical IndianThe Mission of the Willoughby Hills Historical Society is to discover and preserve the historic resources of Willoughby Hills and Willoughby Township, and to encourage a preservation ethic in our community..

The Willoughby Hills Historical Society was founded in March of 1988 and was certified as a Not-For-Profit Corporation on May 23, 1988.

It collects, preserves and displays or otherwise provides for study as far as may be feasible of printed material, photographs, and material objects illustrative of life, conditions, events and activities of the past.

The Society meets on the fourth Wednesday of the odd numbered months in the lower level of the Community Building in the "Historical Society Room" and our newsletter, REFLECTIONS, listing our program for the meeting, is sent to our members the week before the meeting.

Individual memberships are $5/yr. or $100 for life membership.  Family memberships are $7.50/yr. or $150 for life membership.  Click here for membership application.

For more information or a membership application, contact Frank or Mary Cihula at (440) 946-5557 or e‑mail at whhs-oh@att.net.

Meeting/Program Schedule for 2016:

January 27, 2016, 7:00 PM            Barb Widden; Chim Chimney Cher-ee.

March 23, 2016, 7:00 PM               Tba.

May 25, 2016, 7:00 PM                   Tba.

September 28, 2016, 7:00 PM      Tba.


DID YOU KNOW?  Posted 2-9-2016

          How some of our roads got their names.  In early days, roads were constructed between towns to enable travel for business and social purposes.  These roads (main roads) were usually named after the towns they connected.  Shorter side roads were often named after large property owners served by the road.  Chardon Rd., US 6 began as Euclid-Chardon Rd.; River Rd., SR 174 began as Chagrin Falls-Willoughby Rd.; S.O.M. Center Rd., SR91 began as Solon-Orange-Mayfield Rd.  It was extended to Euclid Ave. in Willoughby and in recent times on to Lake Shore Blvd. in Eastlake.  White Rd. was named after the White Family.  Eddy Rd. was named after the Eddy Family, Rogers Rd. was named after the Rogers Family and Hanna Rd. (previously Evans Rd.) was named after the Hanna Family.

March 1993 Reflections Newsletter.  Updated 12-3-2015.  All rights reserved