Police reports can be picked up
Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Cost: 5 cents per page.
Reminder of Ohio's Motor Scooter Laws
Motor scooters and mini-motorcycles have become hot items among children and teenagers.
Parents, grandparents and other family members are spending their hard earned money to purchase scooters and mini-motorcycles – just to find out that most cannot be operated on Ohio’s roads and their children - or grandchildren cannot legally operate the vehicle.
In Ohio, the motor scooters and mini-motorcycles cannot be legally operated on Ohio’s roadways unless - they are titled, registered, covered by the proper insurance and the operator is at least 16 years old with a motorcycle license or endorsement on his or her driver license.
Most of the small electric and gas powered motor scooters, which are sold in sporting good stores and department stores, are not roadworthy, therefore cannot be titled or registered.
In order for the scooter or the mini-motorcycle to be considered roadworthy each must contain a seat, not more than three wheels in contact with the ground, contain the proper brake lights, turn signals, horn, rearview mirrors and headlights.
The county title office will then issue a title for your motor scooter or mini-motorcycle. The title will cost $5.
After you purchase your title, you will need to register your vehicle. The annual registration costs $24.50, plus a permissive tax if required and any new plate fees.
The motor scooter or mini-motorcycle will be issued a motorcycle plate, which will need to be attached to the vehicle.
Please make sure you have the proper insurance coverage on your motor scooter or mini-motorcycle, before registering your vehicle. The owner and the operator of the motor scooter or mini-motorcycle are subject to financial responsibility suspensions if the proper insurance is not maintained.
And finally, in order for the individual to legally operate the motor scooter or mini-motorcycle – he or she must be at least 16 years old and hold a valid driver license with a motorcycle endorsement or a motorcycle license. It is very important to know Ohio’s road laws and signs before an individual attempts to operate a vehicle of any kind on Ohio’s roadways. Licensed drivers have been tested on their knowledge and skills.
Please, know the law before you purchase a motor scooter or a mini-motorcycle. Know where they may be operated and who can operate them. If you have questions you may contact the BMV at 614-752-7800 and you also need to check with your local jurisdiction before you make the purchase.
It’s about your safety, your children’s safety and other drivers’ safety.
Protect Your Family From Sexual Predators
Published by Office of the Ohio Attorney General
Provided by Chief Christopher J. Collins
Awareness is the most valuable tool we have in protecting our loved ones from sexual predators. Now, thanks to a strong partnership between Ohio’s 88 county sheriffs and the Office of the Attorney General’s Office, Ohioans can take steps to protect their loved ones by simply accessing the Internet.
While it is impossible to predict when a sex offender may strike, citizens have the ability to safeguard their families from those with past offenses. By viewing the Electronic Sex Offender Registration and Notification (eSORN) page people have access to pictures, addresses and descriptions of every registered sex offender in Ohio, all contained in a searchable database. Furthermore, Ohio residents can view a map displaying every registered sex offender who lives or works within a mile radius of their homes.
Perhaps the most helpful component of the eSORN site is the form that allows visitors to sign up to receive an e-mail whenever a registered sex offender moves within a mile of any specified address.
Nearly 13,000 registered sex offenders live in neighborhoods throughout Ohio. All of them are required to report their whereabouts to county sheriffs. Ohio’s 88 sheriffs and Petro’s office have worked together to help keep communities informed and aware of potential dangers.
Recently, the General Assembly enacted legislation giving county prosecutors the authority to seek the eviction of sex offenders who violate the law by living within 1,000 feet of school premises. Previously, no tools were available to local law enforcement officials to compel the sex offenders to move.
Log on to www.icrimewatch.net and sign up for the free e-mail notification.
If you or your pet have come in contact with—or have been bitten by—a wild animal, please call the Lake County General Health District immediately at (440) 350-2543. If you see a newly-killed raccoon, skunk or fox, and wish to have it tested for rabies, call the Health District. (The head must be intact, and the body should have no maggots or flies.) Wounded raccoons, skunks or fox should also be reported to the Health District.
If you see a wounded animal, please call the Police Department at (440) 942-9111. If you see a dead animal, please call the Service Department at (440) 918-8740. Dead animals may be double-bagged and placed with your garbage for collection. In handling dead animals, please use universal precautions (i.e. gloves and shovels) to avoid contact.
GUN LOCK PROGRAM
The Willoughby Hills Police Department provides gun locks free of charge throughout the year.
These gun locks are provided to the Police Department free of charge by the American Shooting Sports Foundation in an effort to promote firearms safety in the home. This creates a safer environment for all family members.
Children of all ages are inquisitive and will often search—and find —weapons in a home. This can often lead to tragic accidents involving accidental discharges of loaded firearms. Keeping your firearms unloaded and disabled with a safety lock is one of the best ways to ensure weapons safety in your home, office or wherever you may store a firearm.
Please contact Sgt. Vobornik at (440) 942-9111 for more information about this important gun safety program.
Wearing your seat or safety belt reduces fatalities, especially on young adults. Motor vehicle crashes continue to be the leading cause of death for every age, 3 through 33, in the United States. The past few years have shown a significant increase in safety belt use, but more must be done to sustain and grow these gains.
Safety belt use saves lives and prevents injuries. Between 1975 and 2000, safety belts prevented 135,000 fatalities and 3.8 million injuries, saving $585 billion in medical and other costs. If all vehicle occupants had used safety belts during that period, nearly 315,000 deaths and 5.2 million injuries could have been prevented – and $913 billion in costs saved. Those who fail to buckle up could be issued a ticket that could carry fine amounts from sixty ($60) to one hundred ($100) dollars.