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Operation Permit Frequently Asked Questions 

1. Why do I need an Operational Permit?

Operational permits are required by the new 2015 Ohio Administrative Code Chapter 3701-29.  

Operational permits will help ensure that proper maintenance is being performed and may 

increase the life of the sewage treatment system (STS).  Also, the permits provide homeowners 

education regarding maintenance of their STS. Lake County General Health District (LCGHD) 

will also be able to provide more educational opportunities for the public regarding STS.  

Resources can be found at our website at: www.lcghd.org 

2. When does the program start?

This program started in 2015.  LCGHD will implement a phased approach for the operational 

permits.  The phases will be implemented in succession over the course of the next 5 years.  Each 

phase of the program will provide various types of homeowner education opportunities.    

3. What are the requirements for my Sewage Treatment System (STS)?

The maintenance requirements for your STS should be printed on your Operational Permit.  If 

you know your system type you can find the required maintenance at our website at: 

www.lcghd.org 

4. How do I find out what type of STS I have and what fees will be assessed to me?

A copy of your STS records can be requested by calling (440)350-2543. Your fee will be based 

on system type.  The fees range from $20 to $40 annually.   

5. If I have an old STS will I have to update my system?

No.  Ohio law allows sewage treatment systems in operation prior to the date of the new rules be 

deemed approved as long as they are not causing a public health nuisance. 

6. Will I have to replace my STS if it’s found to be creating a public health nuisance?

No, as long as repairs are made that meet the requirements of the Sewage Treatment Rules and 

they eliminate the public health nuisance.  If repairs cannot be made LCGHD will discuss 

available options with homeowners. 

7. How can I pay for the Operational Permit?

LCGHD accepts payments of cash or check.  The payment can be mailed with the invoice you 

will receive in the mail, or dropped off in person at our office. 
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8. What happens if I do not pay the fee?

LCGHD will provide notice by mail of any permit fee that is due.  We send out the first notices 

through regular mail and the final by certified mail.  Homeowners will receive adequate time to 

pay the fee.  If the fee is not paid following the third notice, LCGHD will place the fee on the tax 

bill as a lien plus a 25% late penalty.  Ohio law allows the fiscal office to charge a fee to cover 

cost of placing fees on taxes.  The lien will then be required to be paid in the next tax year.  Also, 

the final notice will include information on how a homeowner may appeal the action to place a 

lien. 

9. What is LCGHD planning to do with the monies collected through Operation

Permit fees?

The money generated from the Operation permit program will pay for the materials used for 

mailings, postage for mailings, personnel cost for running program, which include mailings, 

maintaining database, reviewing service reports and following up on issues with STS and 

time conducting quality control to ensure service providers are conducting adequate and 

accurate services of STS.  

10. Who can perform the required maintenance?

Any registered service provider that services your type of septic system can perform the required 

maintenance. A list of registered service providers indicating systems types they service can be 

found on our website at:  www.lcghd.org.   

11. Do I have to have a registered service provider?

Depends, some STS require a registered service providers perform the required maintenance.  

Other systems may only require proof of pumping from a registered septage hauler.  In some 

cases homeowners may even become certified, and provide their own maintenance.  Call the 

health department to determine who can service your type of system. 

12. Who submits the proof of required maintenance?

 A registered service provider or septage hauler must submit proof of service.  

13. I have questions about my Sewage Treatment System (STS).  Who should I call?

You can call a registered service provider or Lake County General Health District at 

(440) 350-2543. 

14. What happens if I don’t do the required maintenance?

If you do not do the required maintenance it may shorten the life expectancy of your system.  An 

inspection will be done by LCGHD on a pass / fail basis.  An additional fee will be charged for 

the inspection, and orders to repair / replace your septic system may be issued.   

15. Is there any help for homeowner s who cannot afford to replace their STS?

LCGHD is always in search of grants and low interest loans for low income families to replace 

their failing STS.  For 2018 LCGHD has been awarded $200,000 dollars from Ohio EPA Water 

Pollution Control Loan Fund program to assist low income eligible homeowner’s repair or 

replace their failing septic systems.   

h:\environmental health\liquid, solid waste & water\liquid waste\operation & maintenance\o&m 2017\frequently asked questions 2.doc 

http://www.lcghd.org/



